skip to main content

BOR Members

Thirteen members are appointed by the governor and legislative leaders, two are students chosen by their peers, and seven non-voting ex-officio members.


  • JoAnn Ryan


    JoAnn Ryan

    JoAnn Ryan, President/CEO of the Northwest Connecticut Chamber of Commerce
    View Bio
  • Richard J. Balducci

    Richard J. Balducci

    Richard J. Balducci of Deep River is vice president of Doyle, D'Amore and Balducci in Hartford and former Speaker of the House.
    View Bio
  • Ira Bloom

    Ira Bloom

    Ira Bloom, J.D. is a Professor in the Department of Political Science at Lehman College, a CUNY School.
    View Bio
  • Felice Gray-Kemp

    Felice Gray-Kemp

    A legal executive with expertise in in U.S. and international commercial law for Fortune 500 industrial, technology and iconic consumer product companies.
    View Bio
  • Holly Howery

    Holly Howery

    In 2018, Holly was appointed by Governor Malloy to serve on the Board of Regents for Higher Education.
    View Bio
  • Juanita T. James

    Juanita T. James

    Ms. James is President & CEO of Fairfield County’s Community Foundation.
    View Bio
  • Dr. Jim McCarthy

    Dr. Jim McCarthy

    Dr. McCarthy served as Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at Baruch College of the City University of New York
    View Bio
  • Richard J. Porth

    Richard J. Porth

    Richard Porth has served in government and for nonprofits and private funders in a range of jobs aimed at strengthening communities and enabling better access to opportunities and supports
    View Bio
  • Ari Santiago

    Ari Santiago

    Ari Santiago is the CEO of CompassMSP, a technology services firm that helps businesses harness the power of technology to achieve their business goals.
    View Bio
  • Elease E. Wright

    Elease E. Wright

    Elease Wright was appointed to the Board of Regents for Higher Education in 2014 and serves as a member of the Board’s Executive Committee, Human Resource and Education Committee, and is Chair of the Audit Committee.
    View Bio

Ex-Officio Members

  • David Lehman

    David Lehman

    Department of Economic and Community Development
    View Bio
  • Colena Sesanker

    Colena Sesanker

    Dr. Colena Sesanker is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Gateway Community College and Vice Chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee to the Board of Regents.
    View Bio
  • David Blitz

    David Blitz

    David Blitz is Professor of Philosophy at Central Connecticut State University and Chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee to the Board of Regents.
    View Bio
  • Danté Bartolomeo

    Danté Bartolomeo

    Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Labor
    View Bio
  • Manisha Juthani, MD

    Manisha Juthani, MD

    Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH)
    View Bio
  • Charlene Russell-Tucker

    Charlene Russell-Tucker

    Deputy Commissioner of the Department of Education
    View Bio
  • Kelli-Marie Vallieres, PhD

    Kelli-Marie Vallieres, PhD

    Chief Workforce Officer, Office of Workforce Strategy
    View Bio

Comments & Questions

Questions regarding the Connecticut Board of Regents should be addressed to Pam Heleen, Office of Board Affairs, at 860-723-0013 or