Header new120
May 01, 2020

Phi Theta Kappa Community College Students Named to All-Connecticut Academic Team

Thirty-one high-achieving students from Connecticut’s 12 community colleges have been named to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All-Connecticut Academic Team

Thirty-one high-achieving students from the 12 community colleges of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU) were named to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All-Connecticut Academic Team, and for the first time, will each be awarded a $160 scholarship by the CSCU Foundation.

“These 31 students are not only the top scholars among Connecticut’s community colleges, but leaders ready to step up for the next generation,” said CSCU President Mark Ojakian. “This recognition is an outstanding achievement and the result of hard work, dedication and commitment.  We are very proud of our students as they continue their education or begin careers in their chosen professions, well-prepared to meet the evolving demands of the state’s workforce.”

In addition to being selected All-Connecticut Academic Team scholars, Rebecca Delvalle of Housatonic Community College was named a 2020 Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholar; Alexis Christy of Housatonic Community College, a New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar; and Abigail Ingalls of Middlesex Community College, a New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar.

Sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa — the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs — the All-Connecticut Academic Team is one of the All-USA Community College qualifying teams. This honor recognizes high achieving two-year college students who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership and service beyond the classroom.

Each student is earning an associate degree, maintains a 3.5 GPA or higher and is involved in campus activities. The All-CT Academic Team state coordinator is Todd Bryda, professor of history at Northwestern Connecticut Community College (NCCC). PTK co-advisors are NCCC Professors Sharon Gusky and Crystal Wiggins.

“It is with great pride and a heart full of hope that I share in the excitement of an unanimously approved scholarship in support of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at our statewide community colleges,” said CSCU Foundation President Helen G. Sneed. “PTK has helped millions of high-achieving college students dream, grow and reach their full potential.”

“The CSCU Foundation Board of Directors is excited to recognize our local students’ efforts, help develop their dreams of leadership, grow their careers and reach for the stars that will support the All-Connecticut Academic Team as the next generation to make all our futures bright!” said Sneed.

The 2019-20 All CT-Academic Team includes:

Ethan Gregoire, Asnuntuck Community College
Lizeth Lamberti, Asnuntuck Community College
Chevelle Myrie, Capital Community College
 Hira Hasan, Gateway Community College
Rahteisha Pittman, Gateway Community College
Maria Petrario, Gateway Community College
Alexis Christy, New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar, Housatonic Community College
Rebecca Delvalle, 2020 Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholar, Housatonic Community College
Carter Klein, Manchester Community College
Diego Pichay, Manchester Community College
 Lisa Huynh, Manchester Community College
 Michael Randazzo, Manchester Community College
Joshua Budney, Middlesex Community College
John Guillamon, Middlesex Community College
Abigail Ingalls, New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar, Middlesex Community College
Robert Boccuzzi, Naugatuck Valley Community College
Shane Schuyler, Naugatuck Valley Community College
Caida Diaz-Rivera, Naugatuck Valley Community College
Melissa Mallem, Northwestern Connecticut Community College
Zoie Rinaldi, Northwestern Connecticut Community College
Jessica Neag, Northwestern Connecticut Community College
Catherine Carlson, Norwalk Community College
Gordon Hanssen, Norwalk Community College
Melanie Pugni, Norwalk Community College
Agnieszka Zyskowska, Norwalk Community College
Kevin Champagne, Quinebaug Valley Community College
Kristina Dyba, Quinebaug Valley Community College
Mariah Hoard, Three Rivers Community College
Summer Pellegrini, Three Rivers Community College
 Marharyta  Bondarchuk, Tunxis Community College
Sonia Nkansah, Tunxis Community College