ConnSCU Advanced Manufacturing Centers Training State’s Next Generation Workforce

ConnSCU honors industry partners, staff, and students of the state's four Advanced Manufacturing Centers at the 2013 Advanced Manufacturing Awards Ceremony.

The Connecticut State College and Universities (ConnSCU) today honored industry partners, staff, and students of the state's four Advanced Manufacturing Centers at the 2013 Advanced Manufacturing Awards Ceremony. Joined by Governor Dannel P. Malloy; Elliot Ginsberg, President and CEO of the Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology, Inc.; and David Levinson, Vice President for Community Colleges, Board of Regents for Higher Education, the ConnSCU awards recognized innovation and exemplary achievement in the field of advanced manufacturing.

“Competing in the global marketplace requires Connecticut to have a well-trained workforce that can respond to the needs of the state's manufacturers," said Dr. Gregory W. Gray, President of the Board of Regents for Higher Education. "I applaud the award recipients for their work to build and expand these important training programs, and the Advanced Manufacturing Centers for all they are doing to create partnerships with business and industry."

“If the state of Connecticut is going to increase job growth and remain competitive, we must be aware of how critically important it is for manufacturers to have access to employees with an advanced skill set,” said Governor Malloy. “These Advanced Manufacturing Centers play a significant role in our efforts to prepare the next generation of manufacturing talent to fill these high-tech, high-skill jobs, help Connecticut manufacturers grow and thrive, and ensure our state’s long-term economic health.”

“The state’s support is critical to help us meet the needs of employers by providing students with the necessary education and training to become highly skilled in their field,” said Yvette Meléndez, Acting Chair of the Board of Regents for Higher Education. “We thank Governor Malloy and the legislature for their continued support of these programs and our students.”

Supported by state investment, Asnuntuck, Housatonic, Naugatuck Valley, and Quinebaug Valley Community Colleges house the state's four Advanced Manufacturing Centers along with Connecticut Dream it Do it initiative, which is a national career awareness and recruitment program for manufacturers sponsored by the Manufacturing Institute.

Awards included:

Leadership Award:

  • Frank Gullini, Director of Asnuntuck Community College’s Advanced Manufacturing Technology Center

Innovation Award:

  • Gail Coppage, Director of Innovation and Outreach, Board of Regents for Higher Education

Industry Partner Awards:

  • Gary Zweifel, HR Director, Delta Industries, North Granby / Asnuntuck Community College (ACC)
  • Kenneth Lisk, President, PEP Lacey Manufacturing, Bridgeport / Housatonic Community College (HCC)
  • Douglas Johnson, Vice President of Operations, The Marion Manufacturing, Cheshire / Naugatuck Valley Community College (NVCC)
  • Raymond Coombs Jr., President, Westminster Tools, Inc., Plainfield / Quinebaug Valley Community College (QVCC)

Outstanding Student Awards:

  • Pedro Rivera (New Britain), ACC
  • Christopher Heun (Stratford), HCC
  • Darlene Blumenthal (Waterbury), NVCC
  • Ian Bothur (Baltic), QVCC

Advanced Manufacturing Technology Center Awards:

  • ACC Interim President James Lombella
  • HCC President Anita Gliniecki
  • NVCC President Daisy Cocco De Filippis
  • QVCC Interim President Carmen Cid

For more information

For more information, please contact Leigh Appleby, Director of Communications at 860-723-0617,