Community College Students Honored by All-Connecticut Academic Team

Students from Nine community colleges of CSCU were honored Friday, April 6, at the State Capitol during the annual All-Connecticut Academic Team awards ceremony

Nineteen outstanding students from nine community colleges of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU) were honored Friday, April 6, at the State Capitol during the annual All-Connecticut Academic Team awards ceremony.

Michele Coach, Interim Dean of Academic Affairs at Asnuntuck Community College and New England Regional Advisor of Phi Theta Kappa, and CSCU President Mark Ojakian made remarks. Phi Theta Kappa advisors and Northwestern Connecticut Community College (NCCC) Professors Crystal Wiggins and Todd Bryda presented the awards.

The All-Academic Team recognizes the outstanding scholarly achievements and leadership accomplishments of students enrolled in Connecticut’s community, technical and junior colleges. The 19 students chosen for the 2018 state team also represented the State of Connecticut in the All-USA Academic Team Competition and the Coca-Cola Scholars Competition.

Kin Yat Lam of Norwalk Community College was named a 2018 Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar, and Victoria Orifice of Asnuntuck Community College was named a 2018 Coca-Cola Academic Team Silver Scholar. Phi Theta Kappa recognized them at the PTK Catalyst Annual Convention in Kansas City, Missouri.

“These 19 students, are not only the top scholars among Connecticut’s community colleges, but leaders who are ready to step up for the next generation,” said CSCU President Mark Ojakian. “Because of the strong education received at our state’s two–year community colleges, these students are now well-prepared to meet the evolving demands of the state’s workforce or to further their education.”

The ceremony was sponsored by Northwestern Connecticut Community College, the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities and Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges.

The students honored Friday included:

Victoria Orifice – Asnuntuck Community College

Ryan Russin – Asnuntuck Community College

Jorge Bermudez – Gateway Community College

Julia Streeter – Gateway Community College

Loucas Yacovou – Gateway Community College

Abigail Aguirre – Housatonic Community College

Michael Biggs II – Housatonic Community College

Alexandra Norton – Manchester Community College

Kevin Rodriguez Oblitas – Manchester Community College

Brittney Cotrona – Middlesex Community College

Alan Marshall – Middlesex Community College

Christopher Gordon – Naugatuck Valley Community College

Johanna Toledo-Bravo – Naugatuck Valley Community College

Sierra Tillman – Northwestern Connecticut Community College

Nakiska Vaughan– Northwestern Connecticut Community College

Kin Yat Lam – Norwalk Community College

Lillian Yanney – Norwalk Community College

Michaela Grimaldi – Quinebaug Valley Community College

Stephen Jacobsen – Quinebaug Valley Community College 

For more information

For more information, please contact Leigh Appleby, Director of Communications at 860-723-0617,