Early College Steering Committee

Examining ways of modeling early college learning with the ultimate goal of having early college programs operating in Connecticut community colleges.

About the Committee


October 2014 Report (pdf)
October 2014 report of the Early College Steering Committee

Required Attributes (pdf)
Attributes we believe should be evident in an early college program

Phase I Report (pdf)
December 2013 Phase I report of the Early College Steering Committee

Dr. Gregory W. Gray, President of the Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education, and Department of Education Commissioner Stefan Pryor convened a task force to study early college learning and make recommendations on expanding early college programs in Connecticut.

The 25-member steering committee will examine best practices for developing and expanding early college programs at each of Connecticut's community colleges. Committee members include representatives from the Board of Regents, State Department of Education, CEA, AFT, the Technical High School System, local school districts, community colleges, state universities and the business community.

View Members
View Meetings


Past Meetings

Date Agenda | Minutes
June 8, 2015 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
May 12, 2015 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Apr 8, 2015 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Mar 10, 2015 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Jan 13, 2015 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Dec 9, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Nov 10, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Oct 10, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Sept 23, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Aug 18, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
July 28, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
July 11, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
June 23, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
June 2, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
May 16, 2014 Agenda (pdf) | Minutes (pdf)
Apr 21, 2014 Minutes (pdf)
Mar 24, 2014 Minutes (pdf)
Mar 10, 2014 Minutes (pdf)
Feb 10-28, 2014 Minutes (pdf)
Jan 27, 2014 Minutes (pdf)
Jan 10, 2014 Minutes (pdf)
Dec 23, 2013 Minutes (pdf)
Dec 19, 2013 Minutes (pdf)
Dec 9, 2013 Minutes (pdf)
Nov 18, 2013 Minutes (pdf)

Committee Members

Name Position, Affiliation
CO-CHAIR Carmen Cid Dean of Arts and Sciences, Eastern Connecticut State University
CO-CHAIR Dianna Roberge-Wentzell State Department of Education Chief Academic Officer
Tracy Ariel Director of Advanced Manufacturing Centers, BOR
Sally Biggs Principal of the Hartford Magnet at Trinity College Academy
Dennis Bogusky AFT representative
Melony Brady-Shanley Principal of the Hartford Public Schools Academy of Nursing and Health Sciences
Michael Breen CEA representative
Dr. Kate Carter South Windsor Superintendent of Schools
Andrea Comer Executive Director, CBIA Education Foundation
Dr. Elizabeth Cowles Professor of Biology, Eastern Connecticut State University
Suzanne D'Annolfo Representing the CT Association of Schools Board of Directors
Dr. Dolores Garcia-Blocker New Haven Public Schools
Dr. Anthony Gasper Deputy Superintendent Windham Public Schools
Elliot Ginsberg President/CEO Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology, Inc.
Robert Henderson Manchester Community College
Kathleen Kelley Dean of Students, Asnuntuck Community College
Lori Matyjas Education Consultant, Connecticut State Department of Education
Stephen McKeever AFT Representative
Steve Minkler Dean of Academic Affairs/Chief Academic Officer, Middlesex Community College
Dr. Sal Pascarella Superintendent Danbury Public Schools
Arthur Poole Director, Educational Opportunity, Connecticut Board of Regents
Dr. Manuel Rivera Superintendent of New London Public Schools
Ray Rossomando Research and Policy Development Specialist, Office of Policy and Professional Practice, Connecticut Education Association
Gail Stevens Norwalk Community College
Gillian Thorne Director, UCONN Early College Experience Program
Robert Trefry Chair, Technical High School System Board
Kirsten Wheaton Senior Director of AP Outreach and Partnerships, College Board